Am I Cleopatra Or Thomas Edison?

It has been a very challenging year.  Personally and professionally I continue to face obstacles I could not have imagined.

I asked myself last night at 2 a.m. if like Cleopatra I was in denial.  Were the problems so big that I really was going to have to flat out just take it on the chin?  I know I can get up, dust myself off and start over.  I’ve done it before and it has always led to something better.

On the other hand I thought maybe this was the 9,999th time I didn’t come up with the right plan and like Thomas Edison I would find the solution(s) on the 10,000th try.

What I have learned over the last year is that you don’t solve problems with the same thinking that created them. You have to do whatever it takes to clear your mind so you can think creatively.  You have to control fear so that you don’t become obsessed with what you woulda/coulda/shoulda done.  Living in the past is one thing – trying to recreate it is insanity.

So, again today I chose perseverance.  I found my way through two seemingly insurmountable and strangely related problems.  Will it be easy? Hell no!  Can it be done? Hell yes!

I don’t know if that’s how Thomas Edison felt but I know he died a lot happier than Cleopatra!

Leave a Reply

