Two Meetings And Out

It took me a long time to stop focusing on potential clients.  I mean the clients I met, had a meaningful conversation or two, sent the proposal, considered the project a slam-dunk.  Like a summer camp romance I never heard from them again.

Oh my gosh. It’s demoralizing to think how much time I spent waiting for someone to call.  Or I would call and leave a perky message.

Yes it would have been better if the other person said, “I’m just not that into you/your company/your offer”.  Actually the silence was deafening but like most entrepreneurs I thought it nearly impossible to get turned down or they were busy or they needed to get the cash together.  Sigh.

So I took the advice of a member of my Mastermind group.  He never has more than two meetings with a potential client.  Then it’s go or no go.  He doesn’t spend any time worrying about it.

I am not doing this perfectly – one characteristic of an entrepreneur is eternal optimism.

Why does he have such success? He closes a large percentage of these deals.

His ability to sit down with the people who will really benefit from his expertise and to close the deal makes all the difference.

I’m working on that too.

Leave a Reply

