Ma Ma Ma Ma Ma My Persona

I recently was having lunch with a group of talented, experienced social media pros.  We began to talk about having different personas on Twitter. Lots of people do because they may represent companies or brands as well as themselves.  I have two. One I use all the time. One I use primarily for experimentation of tweets or how many followers can I get in a month – stuff I’m curious about but don’t want to necessarily use for regular engagement.

How many is too many?  How and when do we switch from one to another and is it too problematic when we aren’t actually visible?

Today I was sitting at my computer being an SEO consultant.  My phone rang and with one look I changed into a mother.  A few minutes later the building manager came in to thank me for referring someone to her and then I was a tenant. We all have a hundred different roles we play. In the next few hours I will be a Board President, a sister, a wife, a Tweeter, a friend on Facebook and that’s just what I know about right now.

Here’s the thing.  Even in all those different roles I try to have the same core persona.  I’m blunt. I want the best for whomever I’m dealing with. I have a strong sense of personal ethics. I am a fanatic for learning.  I may have to soften up one area or toughen up another depending on the role I’m playing but no one ever has to worry that I’m not being myself.

Can that be done online?  I don’t know.  If I decide to have a persona strictly for my business say @successtrafficker will I really be offering anything different than just sticking with @victoriakamm?  Isn’t that the lesson we’re supposed to be taking from social media – that we are our businesses?

Too many questions and not enough answers.  I’m looking forward to your opinions!

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Leave a Reply

