You Have To Be Kidding Me!

I met with someone who told me he wanted to target women as clients.

The conversation went downhill from there.

He said women always defer to their husbands so it was natural that he focus on the men even if both were in his office.

I grew up with a twin brother in a home that proclaimed “It’s a man’s world!” very loudly when I would try to do something out of the ordinary.

My business partner didn’t believe me years ago when I said it was crucial that I go on calls by myself because while he was not technically proficient in that particular business I would be ignored. He’ll tell you it still happens.

I really believed it was because my career choices put me in as a definite minority. It was just part of that world. (I rarely found this working with refrigeration contractors by the way. Once they understood I knew what I was talking about and that I enjoyed working with them they were nothing but great!)

I am so disappointed to find it in the bigger world. What year is this? Will my daughter have to continue to fight this stupid, stupid thought process?

I detest looking for the silver lining – that’s denial. But I will be spending some time assessing what I think, even unconsciously, about markets I’m targeting.

Leave a Reply

